We have two libraries in Hwa Chong; the Jing Xian Library in the College section and the Kong Chian Library in the High School section.
The Jing Xian library was founded in 1974, and was renamed in 1983, in honour of the father of the chairman of the management committee then. The Kong Chian Library also has a rich history. It was officially opened as the Kuo Chuan Library in 1957, but was later renamed after one of our founding fathers, Lee Kong Chian in 1967.
In 2019, the Jing Xian library underwent a major revamp and extensive renovation.
It now boasts amongst its splendid facilities a dedicated performance space, a cozy corner with a wide selection of board games, exhibition spaces and multimedia areas for ICT-based lessons. Our Jing Xian library is now a library of the future – a space of creative possibilities combined with integrated classrooms that support greater learning and research styles.
In 2020, the Kong Chian Library was also revamped to meld iconic neoclassical elements with inviting modern touches.
Spanning a total of three floors, it provides a wide array of flexible spaces to support students’ collaborative exploration, creation and learning. At its core, the Kong Chian Library brings together the best of the physical and digital to create learning hubs, which cater to nurturing critical, creative, and caring thinkers and leaders for the 21st century.