General News

Hwa Chong Teams Intrigued By the Complexities of the Human Body

21 Apr 2017

150 plus students from 20 junior colleges and polytechnics took part in Nanyang Technological University’s first-ever inter-school medical competition on 15 April 2017. Organized by studenets from the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, the inaugural Anatomy Challenge saw participants learning about the various aspects of human anatomy, from its history to the latest imaging technologies and how these are applied in modern clinical practice.

We would like to congratulate teacher mentors Mrs Foo Lam-Woon Keat (Director/ Studies (College)), Mdm Irene Kng (Lecturer/Biology) and Mrs Tay-Choo Lay Kheng Cindy (Senior Teacher/Biology) as well as the following students on their achievements:

Overall champions (Team category): Cheong Jia Sheng (16S74) (Team leader), Woo Seung Hoon (16S7D), Nicole-Ann Lim Shuen (16S7D), Cindy Ow (16S7B), Jorshall Law Jin Hao (17S7D) [reserve]

First runner up (Team category): Isaac Tan Zhe Han (17S7D) (Team leader), Zhang Jing Jing (17S7D), Yeong Qijia, Ann (17S7D), Wang Boyan (17S7D) and Ng Song Peng Matthew (17S7D) [reserve]

Second place (Individual category): Issac Tan Zhe Han (17S7D)

Third place (Individual category): Woo Seung Hoon (16S7D)

The teams were also assisted by seniors from the NUS Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, namely: Mr Jack Tan (14S7G) (IC), Miss Goh Ying Xian (14S7G) (IC), Mr Arturo Neo (12S72), Mr Loo Li Yang (13S7B), Mr Ho Jin Yang (13S7B), Mr Brandon Hoong (14S7B), and Mr Choo Hong Wei (13S71).

Nicole-Ann Lim Shuen (16S7D) from the winning team shared that:
          “Preparing for the Anatomy Challenge was difficult but rewarding. The biweekly training sessions were made all the better by the generous input of our graduated seniors. They truly exemplified the 饮水思源 spirit. Without them, this would not have been possible!”

Front Row (from left to right): Woo Seung Hoon (16S7D),  Cheong Jia Sheng (16S74),  Wang Boyan (17S7D),  Isaac Tan Zhe Han (17S7D)

Back Row (from left to right): Mrs Tay-Choo Lay Kheng Cindy (Senior Teacher/Biology), Cindy Ow (16S7B), Nicole-Ann Lim Shuen (16S7D), Zhang Jing Jing (17S7D), Yeong Qijia, Ann (17S7D), Mrs Foo-Lam Woon Keat (Director/Studies (College)) , Brandon Hoong (14S7B)

(Left to Right): Professor Michael Ferenczi, Lee Kong Chian Medicine Assistant Dean (Years 1 & 2) and NTU Senate Chair; Professor Peter Abrahams, LKCMedicine Visiting Professor and Warwick Medical School’s Emeritus Professor of Clinical Anatomy; Associate Professor Prof Naomi Low-Beer,  Lee Kong Chian Medicine Vice-Dean (Education); Cindy Ow (16S7B); Nicole-Ann Lim Shuen (16S7D); Cheong Jia Sheng (16S74); Woo Seung Hoon (16S7D); Clinical Professor Low Cheng Hock, Tan Tock Seng Hospital’s Department of General Surgery Emeritus Consultant;  Assistant Professor Gerald Tan, Lee Kong Chian Medicine Lead for Radiology; Dr Sreenivasulu Reddy Mogali, Lee Kong Chian Medicine Senior Lecturer and Lead for Anatomy

Learn more about General News at HCI

Back to listing of Achievements