General News

Hwa Chong Students Recognised for Holistic Excellence

17 Aug 2018

We would like to congratulate all Hwa Chong students who received the Ministry of Education’s Special Awards from Ms Sim Ann, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth at the 2018 Special Awards Presentation Ceremony held on 14 August 2018. The annual Special Awards recognise students’ achievements in both academic and non-academic spheres.

The Prime Minister’s Book Prize (PMBP) is an annual award for bilingualism given to primary, secondary and pre-University university students. Hwa Chong students were awarded the lion’s share of the PMBP.

Recipients of the PMBP (Primary):
Ernest Tan Rui Yang (1I1)

Recipients of the PMBP (Secondary):
Hoong Yong Qi Benaiah (18S73)
Nathaneal Chia Shiau Jiun (18A15)
Ong Yin Meng (18S65)
Poon Li Yi Sheryl (18A12)
Zhang Zheqing (18S75)
Zhang Zheting (18S75)

Recipients of the PMBP (Pre-University):
Lim Jia Ying (16A12) (Awardee of the Prime Minister’s Book Prize (Secondary) 2016 and Awardee of the Prime Minister’s Book Prize (Primary) 2012)
Ng Yu Ci (16S72) (Awardee of the Lee Hsien Loong Award for Outstanding Bicultural Students 2018)

Ms Ng Yu Ci delivered a speech at the ceremony, which can be found here:

From left to right: Hong Wee Seng Jeffrey (Principal Consultant/Mother Tongue Language), Ms Zhu Hairong (Lecturer/ Chinese Language), Lim Jia Ying (3 time Prime Minister’s Book Prize winner, Ng Yu Ci (Prime Minister’s Book Prize/Lee Hsieng Loong Award for Outstanding Bicultural Student dual award winner), Li Shida (Lee Hsieng Loong Award for Outstanding Bicultural Student award winner), Mr Chan Kwok Leong (Deputy Principal/ Studies) (Ms Liu Jun (Lecturer/ Chinese Language)

Recognising outstanding performance in Mathematics and the Sciences, the Lee Kuan Yew Math and Science Award (LKY-M&S) was first given out in 1992.

Recipients of the LKY-M&S (Secondary):
Ng Yu Peng (18S6B)
Teow Hua Jun (18S6B)

Recipients of the LKY-M&S (Pre-University):
Bryan Wang Peng Jun (16S7B) (Awardee of the Lee Kuan Yew Award for Mathematics and Science (Secondary) 2016)

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for Outstanding Normal Course Students (LKY-ONC) Award is presented to the top Normal (Academic) and top Normal (Technical) course students, based on their GCE ‘O’ level and ‘N’ level examination results respectively.

Recipient of the LKY-ONC:
Cherlyn Chong Yan Ling (18S6D)

The Lee Hsien Loong Award for Outstanding Bicultural Students (LHL-OBS) was first presented in 2010 to outstanding students in the Bicultural Special Programme (BSP). Today, it is a recognition of students who are conversant in Chinese/Malay and are able to engage our Asian neighbours as well as relate to the West. Hwa Chong students were conferred the highest number of awards for the LHL-OBS.

Recipients of the LHL-OBS:
Li Shida (16S6Q)
Ng Yu Ci (16S72) (Awardee of the PMBP 2018)

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for All-Round Excellence (LKY-ARE) is a national level award for achievement in education presented to well-rounded students who exemplify the qualities articulated in the desired outcomes of education.

Recipient of the LKY-ARE (Primary):
Gareth Lau Jing-Sheng (1I2)

Recipient of the LKY-ARE (Secondary):
Ling Yin (18S68)
Pang Sze Ann (18A14)
Tan Wanting, Megan (18S7B)

From left to right: Shi Peng Yi Penny (16A15), Tan Wanting, Megan (18S7B), Poon Li YI Sheryl (18A12), Ling Yin (1868)

The Lee Hsien Loong Award for Outstanding All Round Achievements award (LHL-OAA) recognises the outstanding academic and non-academic achievements of post-secondary students, particularly those who have made outstanding contributions to the community and demonstrated the spirit of innovation and enterprise.

Recipient of the LHL-OAA:
Shi Peng Yi Penny (16A15)

From left to right: Mr Sim Weiheng (Education Consultant/Student Development), Shi Peng Yi Penny,
Mr Pang Choon How (Principal/HCI)

Learn more about General News at HCI

Back to listing of Achievements