General News

Hwa Chong Hosts Nobel Laureates at the 8th ISYF

20 Jan 2016

Students from over 44 schools in 20 different countries across 4 continents have travelled to Singapore to learn firsthand from Nobel Laureates the marvels of scientific discovery and its impact on mankind at the 2016 8th International Science Youth Forum (ISYF) jointly organized by Hwa Chong Institution (HCI) and Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

Dr Hon Chiew Weng, Principal of Hwa Chong Institution, said, "The International Science Youth Forum (ISYF) continues to be an excellent platform for our aspiring scientists to engage with world-renowned scientists and researchers, as well as other passionate young scientists from other parts of the world. We hope that the opportunities at ISYF will provide new and exciting perspectives to science, and inspire our participants to greater heights.”

Students and educators will get to engage the eminent scientists in a forum chaired by Professor Bertil Andersson, President of NTU Singapore and former Chairman of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry selection committee.  At the panel discussion, Nobel Laureates will discuss the importance of communicating science in today’s world.

A total of seven Nobel Laureates attending the 8th ISYF include Sir Anthony James Leggett (Physics 2003), Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman (Physics, 1990), Professor Ei-ichi Negishi (Chemistry, 2010), Professor John Warren (Physiology/Medicine, 2005), Professor Carlo Rubbia (Physics, 1984), Professor David Jonathan Gross (Physics, 2004), Sir Tim Hunt (Physiology/Medicine 2001).

Gracing the occasion as the Guest-of-Honour, Ms Indranee Rajah, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Finance & Ministry of Law, met the students and eminent scientists, and delivered a welcome address (here) at the forum’s Grand Ceremony on 20 January 2016.

Sir Anthony James Leggett

(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003)

"for pioneering work on superfluidity"

  • Born on 26 March 1938, in Camberwell, South London
  • British and American physicist
  • World renowned researcher in the field of low temperature physics
  • Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Russian Academy of Sciences

Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman

(The Nobel Prize in Physics 1990)

“for work showing an internal structure of protons later known to be quarks”

  • Born 28 March 1930, in Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • American physicist
  • Institute Professor and Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Honorary Professor at the University of Belgrade
  • Member of Board of Sponsors of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists

Professor Ei-ichi Negeshi

(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010)

“for palladium catalysed cross couplings in organic synthesis”

  • Born on  14 July 1935, in Changchun, China
  • Japanese chemist
  • Royal Society of Chemistry’s Sir Edward Frankland Prize Lectureship in 2000
  • Honorary doctor of science degree from the University of Pennsylvania
  • Received the Person of Cultural Merit in 2010 and Order of Culture in 2010

Professor John Robin Warren

(The Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 2005)

"for the discovery of Helicobacter pylori"

  • Born on 11 June 1937, in North Adelaide, South Australia
  • Australian pathologist
  • Emeritus Professor at the University of Western Australia
  • Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia
  • Companion of the Order of Australia

Professor Carlo Rubbia

(The Nobel Prize in Physics 1984)

“for work leading to the discovery of the W and Z particles”

  • Born on 31 March 1934, in Gorizia, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
  • Italian physicist
  • Scientific Director of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam
  • Earned 27 honorary degrees
    Received the Italian ‘Cavaliere di Gran Croce’, the French ‘Offiever de la Légion d'Honneur’ and the Polish Order of Merit

Professor David Jonathan Gross

(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004)

“for the discovery of asymptotic freedom”

  • Born on 19 February 1941, in Washington D.C., USA
  • American physicist
  • Made seminal contributions to the theory of Superstrings
  • Director and holder of the Frederick W. Gluck Chair in Theoretical Physics at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of California, Santa Barbara
    Winner of the Dirac Medal in 1988 and Harvey Prize in 2000

Sir Tim Hunt

(The Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 2001)

"for the discovery of key regulators of the cell cycle"

  • Born on 19 February 1943, in Neston, United Kingdom
  • English biochemist
  • Member of the European Commission Scientific Council, and member of the Advisory Council for the Campaign for Science and Engineering
  • Fellow of the Royal Society
  • Emeritus Group Leader at the Cancer Research UK London Research Institution

For further information, please download the 8th ISYF Press Release here.

Learn more about General News at HCI

Back to listing of Achievements