General News

Hwa Chong Hosts Nobel Laureates at the 10th Anniversary of the International Science Youth Forum

24 Jan 2018

Jointly organised by Hwa Chong Institution (HCI) and the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore), the 2018 International Science Youth Forum (ISYF 2018) celebrates its 10th anniversary as it welcomed 7 distinguished scientists comprising 6 Nobel Laureates and 1 Fields Medallist to engage 120 students from 46 different schools from 16 countries.

Among the distinguished scientists, we have Professor Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (Nobel Prize in Physics 1997), Professor Klaus von Klitzing (Nobel Prize in Physics 1997) and Sir Michael Francis Atiyah (Fields Medal 1966 and Abel Prize 2004).

Through the Nobel Forum, Master Classes and Dialogue Sessions, participants interacted with these Nobel Laureates and other eminent scientists on the theme of “Transcending Frontiers”. As part of the five-day programme, students also visited various industries and A*STARTCentral and participated in hands-on activities at research facilities situated at National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) and Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

Mr Pang Choon How, Principal of Hwa Chong Institution, said, "HCI is privileged to have hosted ten editions of the International Science Youth Forum (ISYF). Over this decade, we have witnessed young scientists inspired by their interactions with Nobel Laureates, eminent scientists, educators and their peers from around the world.  I am confident that the seeds that have been sown for the past ten years will bring harvest in cultivating passionate scientists and researchers with the heart for humanity for years to come.”

Professor Phua Kok Khoo, Founding Director of NTU’s Institute of Advanced Studies said, “The ISYF provides a platform where youths get a rare opportunity to engage the world’s brightest minds. As it helps nurture leaders of tomorrow, it also ensures that our future holds the promise of continued technological innovation and scientific discoveries. As we celebrate the achievements of the ISYF in its marvellous 10 years, it is my hope that young aspiring scientists will understand the impact of science on humanity and keep their flame for scientific curiosity burning brighter than before.”

Our guest-of-honour Dr Janil Puthucheary, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information & Ministry of Education, delivered a welcome address at the Forum’s Grand Ceremony on 24 January 2018 at Hwa Chong Institution.

Dr Janil Puthucheary, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information &Ministry of Education delivering his speech

Nobel Laureates Sir Michael Atiyah (Fields Medalist 1966) (left) and Professor Klaus von Klitzing (Nobel Prize in Physics 1985) (right) engaging delegates on scientific issues

Participants gleaning useful insights from various presentations

Learn more about General News at HCI

Back to listing of Achievements